Club History

About Rotary

Rotary is a worldwide organization of business and professional leaders that provides humanitarian service, encourages high ethical standards in all vocations, and helps build goodwill and peace in the world. Approximately 1.2 million Rotarians belong to more than 31,000 Rotary clubs located in 167 countries.

A Brief History

The world's first service club, the Rotary Club of Chicago, Illinois, USA, was formed on 23 February 1905 by Paul P. Harris, an attorney who wished to recapture in a professional club the same friendly spirit he had felt in the small towns of his youth. The name "Rotary" derived from the early practice of rotating meetings among members' offices.

Rotary's popularity spread throughout the United States in the decade that followed; clubs were chartered from San Francisco to New York. By 1921, Rotary clubs had been formed on six continents, and the organization adopted the name Rotary International a year later.

Click here to view photos of past presidents of the Bradford Rotary Club from the earliest years.

Rich in history, the Rotary Club of Bradford was chartered on January 1, 1922. Harold E. Schonblum served as our first President, Dr. F. Dean Miller served as our first Vice President, Raymond Woodrum served as our first Secretary-Treasurer, and Fred Schoonmaker, Willis Sprout, Robert P. Habgood, and William J. Sloan served as our founding directors. Our founders truly believed in "Service above Self" and created a warm and personable environment for professionals in Bradford to engage in community service and discover fellowship for decades to come.

Since 1922 to the present, the Bradford Rotary Club had five District Governors:

 MC McDowell, 1940-1941

Larry Heddens, 1959-1960

John B. McMillan, 1954-1955

William L. Kaschube, 1990-1991

Ralph Detweiler, 2005-2006